top of page

Remixing - Poems and Game of Thrones


Inside my journal, it asked me to "Make a poem out of newspaper headlines." I'm not the most poetic type, and I'm a person of few words. I decided to make a short "poem," but I think it can have a lot of meaning behind it. Everyone has heard, "life is a roller coaster." It has its ups, and it has its downs. It has its highs and it has its lows. At this exact moment in my life, I believe that I am at a high point in my life. Everything is going well. I have no complaints, so "never been better" is the perfect quote for me right now. Technically, its not your typical "poem," but the meaning behind it is poetic to me. I've simply never been better.

I also had an assignment this week that asked me to make my own Remix Narrative. I intended to “copy” the idea of the Trump Sings videos on youtube (the link is attached in case you have no clue what I am talking about). At first, I wanted to use a famous person speaking (like the Trump videos did), but I decided to go with Game of Thrones because I would much rather sit and re-watch/transcribe Game of Thrones than a speech. When deciding what song I would make Game of Thrones characters sing, I went to the Billboard Hot 100 songs to find popular songs. Bodak Yellow was number one. I enjoy that song, so I chose it.

Basically, I transcribed a few clips from Game of Thrones into a word document, then I pulled up the lyrics to Bodak Yellow and searched each word in the transcribed Game of Throne’s word doc. When I found a word in the lyrics that matched the Game of Throne’s clip, I went back to the video and screen recorded that word (A LOT of work, I know). Then, I uploaded the clips into a video editing application and attempted to make the character’s words match the lyrics. I recognize that is didn’t turn out as I intended it to. Honestly, it was kind of a disaster. I ended up using the song with the lyrics instead of the instrumental because (trust me) it sounds a lot better. It would have been easier if I chose a speech rather than actors because people enunciate words better in a speech, and it would be easier for me to take a small (one-worded) clip from their speaking rather than when a person is talking “normally.” It also would have been easier if I chose a slower song rather than a faster, rap song.

When I realized how difficult I ended up making the assignment for myself, I was in too deep to change it. I had pages of transcribed Game of Thrones clips and multiple (one worded) screen records that matched the song, before I even started putting it together. Basically, my assignment didn't turn out as I intended, but when my classmates peer reviewed it, they said they still enjoyed it, so it wasn't a complete fail. Everyone loves Daenery's Targaryen from Game of Thrones. I think everyone loves her so much because she is female, but she is still the most powerful one on the show. Bodak Yellow is about a female being awesome and powerful too, so it is fitting.

I will attach my Remix Narrative below. Hopefully you can enjoy it.

Here's my Game of Throne/Bodak Yellow Mashup:

bottom of page