top of page

Favorite Method of Procrastination


This week I was asked to describe my "favorite" method of procrastination. It is probably obvious, but when I procrastinate I have a very specific method.

Okay, so let's say that I have a big project coming up. I start working on it a couple days or weeks before it is due depending on how long I think it will take. I try to start the project, but then I decide my brain is just too tired to do it right now, so I decide that I should procrastinate.

First, I pick up my phone. Next, I open up the Snapchat app. I reply to people who Snapchatted me, then I click through peoples stories that I am interested in. After that, I open up Instagram. I scroll through my Instagram feed until I start seeing posts that I have already seen. I leave Instagram and go to Twitter. I scroll through Twitter, I find myself getting bored with it fast because now-a-days people are only posting things that other people have already said or posted before. So I leave Twitter and now I feel like I have to go to Facebook, but I really don't want to, so I go back to Snapchat. This time on Snapchat, I view everyone's story. *Dr. Pimple Popper posted a teaser to a new pimple popping YouTube Video* Now, I find myself on YouTube, watching a bunch of pimple videos. Since I'm on YouTube I might as well check to see if Shane Dawson or one of my favorite beauty guru's posted a video. After I send a couple hours on YouTube, I realize that I am pathetic and need to start working on my project. BUT WAIT! I didn't check Facebook, so I get on Facebook. I scroll through Facebook, and it reminds me that my friends birthday is next month. I haven't planned a gift yet, so I go to Pinterest and search "cute birthday gifts for a friend." I spend about an hour on Pinterest until I realize that it is 2am, and I need to go to bed because I have an 8am class the next morning.

This method repeats until the day before my project is due. It is 2am, and I have a project due tomorrow that I haven't started working on because of my extreme procrastination method. Therefore, I end up pulling an all nighter to get it done. I am grumpy the next day. Everyone and everything irritates me for the rest of the day. As soon as I am done with classes, I run to my bed and pass out. I wake up at 9pm and realize that I am not going to be able to fall asleep at night like a normal person, so I am stuck in this continuous cycle of being tired which in turn causes me to want to procrastinate more.

This is my life. Procrastination sucks.

bottom of page