top of page

Made Up

"I have a twin. I have always had a twin. Were we in the womb together for 9 months, but we were separated at birth. I went 20 years without having any knowledge of this. I was never told and never informed of my long lost twin sister until she showed up at my door step on our 20th birthday. Yes, thats our birthday: my birthday is no longer my own. I have a sister; a twin sister. We cried together when she told me we were separated at birth. How did we go our entire life without knowing about each other. We look so much alike. We both have blonde hair. If I saw her on the street, I would have known. From that day on we were inseparable. We do everything together now. I wish that we would have known each other our whole life. It would have been nice to have a twin sister around while I was growing up. I grew up with two other sisters who also didn’t know that we had another sister - or that I had twin. Our parents apparently had no control over the separation. We don't blame our parents. We are just happy to be with each other now."

This is what I told someone this week. It's a lie. I don't have a twin. This week I was asked to make up a lie about myself with a story to back it up and tell someone, so I decided to say that I have a twin. This is not true. I think I convinced them that it was true though. I do wish I had a twin.

bottom of page